Youth Empowerment Services (YES)

The YES waiver is both a Medicaid home and Community– Based Service that is designed to assist children with severe emotional mental health disabilities. The main component of the YES program is to accommodate youths so that they can continue to live in the community and with their families.

What services are provided?

  • Respite
  • Community Living Supports
  • Family Supports
  • Transitional Services
  • Adaptive Aids & Supports
  • Minor Home Modifications
  • Non-Medical Transportation
  • Paraprofessional Services
  • Professional Services
  • Supportive Family

Who is eligible for services?

To participate in the YES Waiver, the child or adolescent must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Age 3-18.
  • Be eligible for Medicaid, under a Medicaid Eligibility Group included in the approved waiver.
  • Meet Department of State Health Services clinical guidelines and be reasonably expected to qualify for inpatient care under the Texas Medicaid inpatient psychiatric admission guidelines, as defined in the waiver, in the absence of waiver  services.
  • Reside in a non-institutional setting with the child’s legally authorized representative; or in the child’s home or apartment, if legally emancipated.